

## Research Ethics Committee: Biological and Environmental Safety Member List 2024

| Membership<br>Category | Member                 | Institution                | Department           |
|------------------------|------------------------|----------------------------|----------------------|
| With substantial       | Prof Samantha Sampson  | Faculty of Medicine and    | Molecular Biology    |
| experience in          | (Chair)                | Health Sciences            | and Human Genetics   |
| biosafety              | Prof Corena De Beer    | Faculty of Medicine and    | Medical Virology     |
|                        | (Vice-Chair)           | Health Sciences            |                      |
|                        | Prof Sian Hemmings     | Faculty of Medicine and    | Psychiatry           |
|                        |                        | Health Sciences            |                      |
|                        | Prof Wynand Goosen     | Faculty of Medicine and    | Molecular Biology    |
|                        |                        | Health Sciences            | and Human Genetics   |
|                        | Prof Mari van de Vyver | Faculty of Medicine and    | General Internal     |
|                        |                        | Health Sciences            | Medicine             |
|                        | Prof Vuyo              | Faculty of Medicine and    | Molecular Biology    |
|                        | Mavumengwana           | Health Sciences            | and Human Genetics   |
|                        | Dr Diane Rip           | Faculty of AgriScience     | Food Science         |
|                        | Mrs Jane De Kock       | Faculty of Science         | Microbiology         |
|                        | Prof Karl Storbeck     | Faculty of Science         | Biochemistry         |
|                        | Dr Nicky Verhoog       | Faculty of Science         | Biochemistry         |
|                        | Dr Sarita Groenewald   | Biosafety Expert – non-    |                      |
|                        |                        | affiliate                  |                      |
|                        | Dr Hennie Groenewald   | GMO Expert – non-affiliate |                      |
|                        | Ms Shané Basson        | Community Member – non-    |                      |
|                        |                        | affiliate                  |                      |
|                        | Mr André Timotheus     | Community Member – non-    |                      |
|                        |                        | affiliate                  |                      |
|                        | Ms Naseema Sonday      | Division of Research       | Research Contracts   |
|                        |                        | Development                | Office               |
| Secretariat            | Mr Winston Beukes      | Division of Research       | Office for Research  |
|                        |                        | Development                | Integrity and Ethics |
|                        | Ms Biosha Thompson     | Division of Research       | Office for Research  |
|                        |                        | Development                | Integrity and Ethics |